the chaotic life of austin simmons

05.24 // South America // Days 5-7


Day 5 [a time of reflection]

Late start.  Breakfast at the bakery.  No set plans for today.  Perfect.  Lots of writing.  Gather thoughts for blog update.  Call mom.  No answer.  Call dad.  6 minute conversation.  Call mom again.  Guess she doesn’t want to talk.  Chicken for lunch courtesy of Jon.  Conversation/Reflection in living room.  Walk around the neighborhood.  Special BBQ for dinner.  Matt is grillmaster.  “Your daddy drives a taxi and my daddy drives a tractor!”  Walk to store for beers.  Can’t believe it is our 5th night in Columbia.

corner bakery for breakfast

wilson the bakery man

Day 6 [parque arvy]

Cold shower.  Morning devotion.  Jon woke/shook Matt up.  He didn’t like that.  Bakery for breakfast.  Workers are getting to know us.  People greet each other in the street.  Man helps older lady into a taxi.  Kids play futbol in the streets.  Where am I?  Off to Parque Arvy (a park outside the city).  Metro.  Cable-cars.  6 mile hike.  Mud.  Saul is wearing flip-flops.  Finally here.  Sketchy zip-line with hand brake.  Thunderstorm.  Hide under umbrella.  Military man with grenade launcher hangs on side of our bus.  Long trek back to house.  Jon shakes water from tree with Matt standing under it.  I jump on a branch to do the same.  The branch breaks.  Land on my back.  Hard.  2 pain meds.  Good one austin.  Unauthentic chinese for dinner.  Medellin night life here we come.  Crazy night.  Go to sleep sweaty.

6 mile hike into the park

medellin from metro-cable car

Day 7 [the day of rest]

Girls get 6 dollar manicures and pedicures on back patio.  Coco-crispies for breakfast.  No itinerary for today.  Martha points to the broom.  I sweep the house.  Jon makes fun of me. Ice cream shop.  Doaa is kinda excited.  Metro to downtown.  Stop at ATM.  Get excited for a second because i think i have a lot of money in my account.  Then i realized the remaining balance left is in pesos (1880 pesos = 1 USD).  See ducks in the park.  Dance in the city to live band.  Long trek home.  Getting used to transportation systems.  Medellin futbol game at the bar.  Dinner in the streets.  Doaa and Matt play rock, paper, scissors.  Luisa stays the night in the hospital with grandfather.  Boy in striped pajamas with spanish subtitles.  Say good-bye to Sara (she will be off to work before we leave for Quito).  We all go to sleep.  Saul doesn’t.  Leave for our 24 hour journey to Quito tommorow.  Leaving late in the afternoon to arrive at sketchy border early in the morning.  Should be quite the experience.

luisa got her toenails did

doaa and her ice cream craving

4 responses

  1. Betsy Simmons

    New friends. New places. New experiences. New food. New emotions. New perspectives….how awesome that you have all this, Austin. I love you. ~Mommy.

    May 25, 2010 at 8:03 am

    • sometimes i feel as if you are the only one that reads my posts….your my biggest fan…love you beautiful mother…ill keep writing even if you are the only one that follows…wonderful talking to you on the phone today…

      May 26, 2010 at 10:16 pm

  2. Seguin

    So they’ve got you playing soccer again? I bet they think you’re pretty good too. It’s great to hear that you are having an awesome time. Wish I was there too. Your photography is amazing. What kind of camera do you use for most of your travel shots?

    May 27, 2010 at 6:13 pm

  3. Marie

    Wow Austin! I had no idea that you were headed out of the country, much less to Colombia! I’m going out there next summer. I hope you have the most wonderful time. Im dying to hear about it when you come back. I was a few seconds away from stopping by your house & seeing if I could bother you for some tips on a stencil piece im working on…guess it’s a good thing I didnt! Everything is same-old here at home. I got my liver transplant & am secluded at home, so you can imagine all the time I have to crank out some art! Hopefully I’ll be able to do one of Mrs. Egglestons art camps this summer, (I had to give up my spot at the NCSU design camp…medical reasons) Unfortunate, but hey, there will be other opportunities. HAVE A BLAST! God bless!

    May 27, 2010 at 7:12 pm

Leave a Reply

