the chaotic life of austin simmons

No soda, More sleep, More Blogging—>My 2010 Resolutions


I cant believe that it is already 2010!

Although not a big fan of New Years Resolutions, i decided that it was necessary to make some realistic goals for the new year….As some of you may know, i recently just launched a new site: [ConfiningtheChaos.com]  It is a portfolio based site with a wide range of work that i have been working on over the past year.  My hope is that this site will be a good way for others to keep track of the work i am doing as well as give new fans a point of reference to who i am as a designer/artist/photographer.

For those of you who do not already know, i am currently attending the Design School at NC State where i am pursuing a major in Graphic Design.  After already 1 semester in the program, i can honestly say that the school is a perfect fit for me.  Studying Graphic Design at a university with such a prestigious reputation is electrifying, knowing that my instructors will push me to do my best.  With the intense environment, I feel there will be challenges that come along with what appears to be a flawless recipe for success.  The reputation of State Alumni is astonishing.  It is so staggering that at times I fear it will lead to an enormous amount of pressure to become some great influential figure when in reality I only hope to be the best I can be as a designer no matter where that takes me [i can say that this pressure has subsided as the semester reached its end and i became more comfortable within the program]

I feel that with so much attention looking at the world through the spectacles of a graphic designer, I may loose some of the perspectives that I hold on to now [which could maybe be a good thing….idk yet…ill get back to you].  Regardless of the difficulties I am prepared to encounter while walking through the program, I am determined to put forth my best work, knowing that as a designer it is my duty, my calling, and my responsibility to positively contribute to the aesthetics and culture of the world we live in.

Thank you so much for all of your support!!  I truly am so blessed to be able to pursue what I love!!  I would love to know what you think of the site!!!  Stay posted for all the new and exciting things to come in 2010!!!  Its gonna be crazy!!….

Cheers!!

-Austin

Leave a Reply

